OF THE DREAM THAT WAS MY LIFE: Interview with Playwright Kristyn Koczur

Meagan J. Meehan
6 min readSep 12, 2023

--

“Of The Dream That Was My Life” is a new play that sheds light on the life of Camille Claudel (1864–1943), a French sculptor who was the muse and mistress of Auguste Rodin. Camille lived in the 1800s, during an era where the art world was dominated by men, yet she aspired to achieve recognition and stature among the great artists of Paris. Undeterred by boundaries, Camille was ultimately imprisoned in an insane asylum where she spent the last 30 years of her life.

Playwright Kristyn Koczur wrote this biographical drama which will begin previews October 21 at American Theatre of Actors.

Meagan Meehan (MM): How did you discover your talent for writing and what was it about plays that most interested you?

Kristyn Koczur (KK): Being introspective by nature, putting words together on a printed page allows for thoughtful selectivity rather than speaking off the cuff. Because I am first an actor, analyzing the motivation behind a character’s behavior comes naturally. Storytelling is what I do on stage and in playwriting, I have the ability to design the story I wish to tell. I place myself in a character’s particular set of circumstances and imagine how I would respond faced with similar challenges, opportunities or temptations.

MM: How did you initially get interested in theatre and how did you break into the industry?

KK: From childhood, I was lucky to be exposed to many facets of the performing arts. It didn’t take me long to discover that although I was shy in real life, on the stage I was liberated, and nothing could compare to that rush of adrenaline just before the curtain went up. With the support of my parents and later forging ahead on my own, I found excellent teachers and worked tirelessly, training to fine-tune my instrument. I came up in the ranks doing summer stock and apprenticing to earn my membership in Actors’ Equity. It’s been a rocky road with twists and turns, but my inner compass always directed me toward the path of achieving my dreams.

MM: How did you first hear about Camille Claudel and what most intrigues you about her?

KK: A former vocal coach suggested I work on a song from “Camille Claudel, The Musical.” To get some context I began researching the story of her life. The more I learned, the more I was compelled to learn. I devoured everything I could find that was printed in the English language. I was intrigued by her “scandalous” lifestyle, the exquisite sculptures crafted by her hands, the nature of her turbulent relationships, and her confinement in an insane asylum for 30 years. But most of all, I admired her unquenchable spirit — her ability to endure and persevere in the face of impossible odds. She dared to embrace her talent and forge a path unheard of for a woman in her society. I needed to know what makes someone desire to wake up each morning when their reason for being alive has been stripped away from them. Camille’s courage was so inspiring to me that I wanted to put myself in her shoes and explore the challenges she faced to help me get through my own struggles and fear of failing. By sharing her story, I hope to provide a guiding light for others who stumble and falter on their own personal journeys.

MM: How much research did you have to do in order to write this piece?

KK: In addition to reading everything I could find, fact, fiction and gossip about her life, I traveled to Paris to walk in her footsteps, see the places where she lived and worked and explore the museums that showcase her brilliant work.

MM: How long did it take you to write this play?

KK: This play evolved over a period of about five years. Now and then another project would demand my attention, but I always knew it was necessary to bring this play to fruition.

MM: Camille spent over three decades in an insane asylum which is where she died in the 1940s when she was in her 70s. There are conflicting reports about her condition; some say that she was ill, others state that her family (specifically her mother) refused to release her even when doctors suggested that she could go home. What is your take on her situation?

KK: Camille Claudel rebelled against a society that wanted to contain her and dismiss her artistry. Working under Rodin’s mentorship as an apprentice and as the only avenue for showing her work, he customarily signed his name to works she created. He was celebrated and she was disregarded. She began to perceive this as a deception and became consumed with paranoia, eventually deemed psychologically unstable. As a woman who did not recognize boundaries either personally or professionally, she was a threat to her male contemporaries and an embarrassment to her family. It was the wish of both her mother and her brother that she be committed to the asylum for the remainder of her life. Doctors recognized that her confinement was unnecessary, but the system allowed the family to keep her there.

MM: How would you describe the nature of Camille’s relationship with Rodin? What is your understanding of his reaction to her committal?

KK: Surviving correspondence of media, friends and family suggest that what began as a teacher mentoring a student evolved into a love affair which did little to tarnish Rodin’s reputation, while Camille’s behavior was considered scandalous. Her confinement was convenient for him. He continued to live in the lavish lifestyle to which he was accustomed. Unbeknownst to her he occasionally contributed money to the facility for her comfort.

MM: What’s your favorite part of the play and why?

KK: My favorite part is every expression of what it means to be human, that we have the power to choose to succumb to our weaknesses or guide and support each other as we strive to achieve the goals that will fulfill our own destinies.

MM: What do you hope audiences will take away from this performance?

KK: I hope that they will be inspired to identify their own attributes and fulfill their aspirations. Camille Claudel offers a beacon of hope for those who dare to follow her example of courage.

MM: What is some of the best feedback you’ve gotten about this piece thus far?

KK: Insightful, intimate portrait of tenacity and triumph.

MM: What other projects are you working on right now and what themes might you like to explore in the future?

KK: As much as possible I like to focus my attention on one project at a time. My goal is always to find commonality in the emotional experiences that make up my story and those that my audience identifies with. I strive to embrace what binds us together and celebrate that which makes us unique. I would love to explore doing that through song in a cabaret venue.

MM: What are your ultimate goals for the future and is there anything else that you would like to mention?

KK: My goal is to never lose sight of the fact that through my craft I can create community and deliver the message that no one has to stand alone. I would further like to thank all of the people who encouraged and helped me to make this production a reality.

* * * * * *

“OF THE DREAM THAT WAS MY LIFE…” runs October 21 -28 at American Theatre of Actors (314 W. 54th St. NY, NY 10019). Tickets are available at www.SpinCycleNYC.com.

--

--

Meagan J. Meehan

Meagan J. Meehan is a published author of novels, short stories, and poems. She is also a produced playwright and an award-winning modern artist.